Professor Debi P. Sarkar


Prof. Debi Prasad Sarkar, an Indian biochemist and virologist, is currently serving as the Director of IISER Mohali.  He is known for his research on Sendai virus and for developing reconstituted viral envelopes.  He was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, one of the highest Indian science awards, in 1998, for his contributions to biological sciences.   He graduated (honours) in chemistry in 1978 and obtained a master's degree in biochemistry in 1980, both from Banaras Hindu University.  He secured a PhD degree from the University of Calcutta in 1986. His post-doctoral studies were at the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health .  He joined the Delhi University a Lecturer of Biochemistry (1988), followed by Senior Lecturership (1993–96), Reader (1996–2008) and Professor since 2009.  He served as Head of the Department of Biochemistry and also as Dean, Faculty of Interdisciplinary and Applied Sciences.

Along with Vijay Kumar, he demonstrated for the first time that HBx protein stimulated Mitogen-activated signaling cascades in living animals.  He holds patents for his inventions.  Some of the inventions have resulted in Patent Cooperation Treaties (PCT) earning royalties for the university. He has also participated in clinical trials on behalf of the university, including a preclinical study with a Gunn rat model, in collaboration with National Research Development Corporation and AECOM.  He has published his research findings in a number of articles in very high impact international journals and has delivered featured lectures on his work.  He has delivered several award orations including the Prof. B.K. Bachhawat Memorial Lecture of the National Academy of Sciences, India in 2011 and the Platinum Jubilee Lecture at the 102nd edition of the Indian Science Congress in 2015.

He received the M. Sreenivasaya Memorial Award of the Society of Biological Chemists (India) in 2005 and the J.C. Bose National Fellowship in 2010. The National Academy of Sciences, India elected him as their fellow in 1996 and the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Indian National Science Academy followed suit in 2007 and 2011 respectively.

Faculty detail : 


Present : 


Google scholar citations :