Professor Anil K. Tyagi


Professor Tyagi holds an M.Sc. degree in Biochemistry from the University of Allahabad, a Ph.D. degree in Medical Biochemistry from the University of Delhi and has been a passionate teacher. A leading scientist in the area of biotechnology, Professor Anil K. Tyagi has actively pursued his research with emphasis towards the control and amelioration of tuberculosis. For the last more than 15 years, Professor Tyagi's group has focused on two broad areas, (i) development of new vaccines against tuberculosis and (ii) Drug discovery programme for new potential drugs against tuberculosis.

For his scientific contributions, he has been awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, the most prestigious scientific award of India, Ranbaxy Research Award for medical sciences by Ranbaxy Science Foundation, P.S. Sarma Memorial Award by Society of Biological Chemists (India), Nitya Anand Endowment Lecture Award by Indian National Science Academy, India, Vigyan Gaurav Samman Award by UP Government, C.R. Krishnamurthy Memorial Oration Award by CDRI, Lucknow, Prof. S.H. Zaidi Oration Award by ITRC, Lucknow, Kona Sampath Kumar award by University of Delhi. He has been Vice President of the Society of Biological Chemists, India (2004-06). He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, Indian Academy of Sciences and Indian National Science Academy and a National J.C. Bose Fellow.

Professor Tyagi has served as a member of Academic Council of University of Delhi; Head, Department of Biochemistry; Co-ordinator, UGC-SAP; Member, Board of Research Studies, FIAS, University of Delhi; Member, APEX Committee, Vaccine Grand Challenge Programme, DBT, GOI; Member, Governing Body of various Institutes across the country; Member, Research Council, IGIB, Delhi; Member, Research Council of HRDG, CSIR, India; Member, International Programme Approval Committee (IPAC), DST; Member, Expert Committee, UGC, India; Member, Sectional Committees of Indian National Science Academy and Indian Academy of Sciences, Member, Task Force for DST on International Collaborations and Member on several national task forces of the DBT, CSIR and ICMR in the areas of basic sciences, infectious diseases, vaccine development and human health. He has been in the editorial board of several journals and currently he is serving as Member of Editorial Board for Indian Journal of Medical Research, academic editor for PLoS ONE and Member of Editorial Advisory Board for the journal Tuberculosis.

Faculty detail : 


Google scholar citations :